Share your experiences in contributing to Layer5

We encourage our contributors to share your experiences working with community and your work.
If you are #newcomer then share about your first pr and your experience till date. We would love to see that and encourage others to do same. :star_struck:

8 Likes

I am not newcomer now but I remember when my first PR got merged about fixing an alignment in meshery.io website it was an amazing feeling of doing such work

6 Likes

I have been contributing to Layer5’s projects for almost 6 months now. Reflecting back on my first PR, I remember fixing some icons for dark mode on the website layer5.io. It was an amazing feeling when I saw my first PR for merged, and I had no clue that it was the starting of an exciting journey for me in the best open source community! :star_struck:

7 Likes

I am also not a newcomer but I remember, I started my contribution journey :rocket: to Layer5 by opening some dark mode issues on the meshery.io website and fixing some margin issues on the layer5.io website. The feeling that comes when your first PR gets merged is something that is :fire: since then I have been contributing to this amazing community and continuously learning with other amazing folks :raised_hands:.

7 Likes

I may not be a newcomer, but I’m constantly learning and growing in this community. I still remember my first pull request. It involved making some small changes to the Makefile, but I ran into issues while building layer5 on my system. Initially, I felt discouraged and thought about giving up. However, the amazing individuals in the community stepped in, offering their support and guidance.

They patiently helped me troubleshoot the problem and dedicated their time to resolving my issue. I was mesmerized by the generosity and responsiveness of the community members. It truly highlighted why open source is cherished by so many people—the sense of community and willingness to assist one another.